Ramesh Sippy, Ramesh Prasad&Rajdutt to be honoured with‘PIFF Distinguished Award’ for Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema at PIFF 2018

·  ‘S.D Burman International Award for Creative Sound and Music’ will be conferred to S.P. Balasubrahmanyam on January 18

·   Opening film for PIFF 2018 is a Bosnian movie ‘Men Don’t Cry’

·   Awards are to be felicitated onJanuary 11that 4:30 pm at City Pride, Kothrud, Pune
Pune, January 8, 2018:Ramesh Sippy, Hindi film Director, specially known for directing the popular and critically acclaimed film Sholay,Ramesh Prasad, film producer, Chairman and Head of Prasad Studios andRajdutt, veteran film Director, known for his work in MarathiCinema will be honoured with the ‘PIFF Distinguished Award’ at the upcoming Pune International Film Festival (PIFFfor theiroutstanding contribution to Indian Cinema. Secondly, the prestigious ‘S.D. Burman International Award for Creative Sound and Music’ will be presented to S.P. Balasubrahmanyam, famous playback singer and music composer this year.
Dr.Jabbar Patel, Festival Director of PIFF announced this during a Press conference held in the city today. He also unveiled the newly designed PIFF 2018 trophy in the presence of Srinivasa Santhanam, Program Director, PIFF and Abhijeet Randive, Creative Head & Selection Committee Member, PIFF on this occasion. This 16th edition of PIFF organized by the Pune Film Foundation and the Maharashtra Government will take place in Pune between January 11 to 18, 2018.
While the felicitation of the awardees will be done during the Inaugural function which is to be held on January 11th at 4:30 pm; it is onlyRajdutt who will be awardedduring the closing ceremony of the fest i.e January 18 at City Pride – Kothrud. A Bosnian film, ‘Men Don’t Cry’, directed by AlenDrljevic which is the opening film of the fest will be showcased immediately after the inaugural function.

Ramesh Sippy is famous as a director and producer of Hindi cinema. Though his first film is ‘Andaaz’ (1971), but it was ‘SitaAur Geeta’ (1972) which gave him recognition as a director. And in 1975, Sholay, a film which bagged massive popularity and love got him fame. Along with many films like ‘Shaan’, ‘Shakti’ and ‘Sagar’ directed by Sippy, a television series, ‘Buniyaad’ too became a hit. He has also won the civilian honour of Padma Shri in 2013

Ramesh Prasad, film producer, eminent businessman, chairman and head of Prasad Studios and son of famous director-producer, actor Late. L. V. Prasad. He has served as the president of Film Federation of India during 1988-89.

Rajdutt, Indian film director known for his work in Marathi Cinema also known for his family dramas and has been associated with the industry since the 1960’s. He is one of the prime filmmakers during the ‘Golden Era’ of Marathi cinema. Multiple time winner of ‘Maharashtra State Film Award’, this veteran director has directed several successful movies like ‘Gharchi Rani’ (1968), ‘Apradh’ (1969), ‘BholiBhabdi’ (1972), ‘Ashtvinayak’ (1978), ‘Devkinandan Gopala’ (1977) and ‘Pudhcha Paul’ (1985).

This year’s ‘S.D Burman International Award for Creative Sound and Music’ is to be received by S.P. Balasubrahmanyam who has unparalleled contributions in Telugu, Tamil, Kannada cinema and has recorded over 40,000 songs in various Indian Languages. He has achieved six ‘National Film Awards’ for Best Male Playback Singer for his work in 4 different languages. The veteran has also worked as a dubbing artist, composer and character actor.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s